Neighborhoods of Sarajevo

The city of Sarajevo is spread over 142 square kilometers and established as a local self-governing unit within Kanton Sarajevo. The city consists of four municipalities: Old Town, Center; New City and New Sarajevo.

Sarajevo is a city located in the valley and surrounded by mountain ranges from all sides. Miljacka River divides it into two unequal parts and the city expands from its shores. Therefore, the journey through Sarajevo is best taken down the river for which many people say there is no smaller river with a larger number of bridges to cross it.